Fayette County

Welcome to Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service of Fayette County located deep in the heart of southeast Texas.  Noted for its small town hospitality, the county seat, La Grange is conveniently located between large metropolitan cities of Houston, Austin, and San Antonio on State Highway 71 and U. S. Highway 77.  La Grange is rich in scenic beauty and lies below the Bluff on the Colorado River.  La Grange is the largest town in Fayette County and provides the county citizens with governmental, commercial, medical, civic, and cultural facilities.  The Extension Program, directed by the Leadership Advisory Board, strives to serve its citizens who derives its main income from a mix of agriculture and tourism.  Attractions to the area include Festival Hill, Winedale, The Painted Churches Tour, Round Top Antiques Fair, and Fayette Lake.  Fayette County is also noted for the #3 beef production in Texas.

Even though congressional districts and counties have boundaries which overlap, the county falls in the 10th Texas Congressional District, the 18th Texas Senatorial District, and the 13th District of the Texas House of Representatives. The county’s 934 square miles are incorporated with the towns of Carmine, Fayetteville, Flatonia, La Grange, Round Top, and Schulenburg. These towns, along with many small communities, contribute a rich cultural background with a population of 22,150.  Five independent school districts and one junior college provide education for the youth of the county.

Mission:  To provide quality, current, and continuing educational information, programs, and services to the people of Fayette County.

Extension brings the resources of the Texas A&M University System to Fayette County.  Through field based faculty, Extension provides unbiased, research-based information, educational programs, and technical assistance.